My July Favorites

Happy July, readers! This year has been chaotic, so everyone deserves to find the little things that make the chaos worth living through. Here are five things that have made me happy recently.

  • My Neighbor Totoro Dress: I ordered this dress from Hot Topic months ago, so it was such a surprise to receive it. Although $40 is a bit more than I would usually pay for clothes, I’m in love with the fabric pattern and cut of the dress. The size of the dress feels like it was personally made for me. I admit that I twirled around the house in it for 5-10 minutes when I tried it on, because it made me feel cute for the first time in a while.

  • Webtoon: I’ve had this app before to read Almost Human by Ari North, but I recently redownloaded it to help me relax before bed. The stories really spark a joy that is difficult to find in quarantine. These are the Webtoon series I’m currently subscribed to in no particular order: Muted by Miranda Mundt, Crumbs by Whitherling, Boyfriends. by Ray (refrainbow), and Aerial Magic by walkingnorth (username and same author of Almost Human).

  • Unsolved Mysteries: Netflix did a reboot of Unsolved Mysteries, which ranges from unsolved murder to a UFO encounter, and it is absolutely everything I’ve been needing out of a show lately. The intro, the stories, and how it’s filmed are brilliant. There’s only six episodes so far, so it’s quick to watch.

  • Therapy: I decided to find a new therapist after slowly losing touch with my last therapist, because there’s nothing wrong with trying something new even if a past therapist is good. I found a nonbinary counselor on Psychology Today, and I’ve had one session so far. I really recommend that website, because the filters can be extremely specific for what you’re looking for. Mental health is so important and nothing to be ashamed of!

  • Scorpio Candle: My friend sent me the sweetest care package in the mail, and this was one of the items in it. I’ve actually been meaning to get a scorpio candle, so she really nailed it with this gift from Target. It smells so pretty. You can never have too many candles!

This list is all over the place yet so wholesome. I’ve often felt down in the dumps or bored lately, so I’m glad I am finding ways to help myself. I hope you’re staying safe and finding joy as well.

Author: ninefingernewsletter

I’m Alex! I'm a Lamar University '21 alumnus that earned a B.A. in American Sign Language with a focus in interpreting. I enjoy reading, cooking, and traveling. While Nine Finger Newsletter is currently inactive/on hiatus, it was established in 2017 to spread awareness about my Disabled, LGBTQ+ identity. My blog is meant to educate, motivate, and entertain others with what I’m passionate about!

Leave a comment