Online Shopping Haul

I usually never buy clothes online, so this was an experiment and treat for myself. Thrifting and hand-me- downs make up a lot of my wardrobe in order to contribute to fast fashion the least I can, but I was struggling to find items that match my current style. Blame it on low confidence and impulsive depression purchases, but I am beyond happy with my purchases. I noticed I’ve been doing a lot of hauls lately, so I’ll try to mix it up more soon!

  • Rainbow Cardigan: This is a size medium cardigan from Hot Topic. This is exactly the article of clothing I’ve been looking for.
  • Trans Shirt: Mokuyobi was having a sale on pride shirts, so I got a size medium for only $5. I had originally wanted their nonbinary shirt, but they were out of sizes I could fit in. Either way, I’m so happy to have another shirt to show my pride.
  • White & Rainbow Viva Mondo Creeper: I have no shame in admitting that I’m somehow sexually attracted to this pair of shoes. They’re a US size 6 in women’s, and I purchased them on the T.U.K. Footwear Outlet for $60. That price isn’t bad at all for the amazing quality, vegan materials, and how many years of wearing I will get out of these.
  • Clip-On Computer Lenses: Since I work about 20 hours a week at a job where I’m mostly sitting at a desk with double desktop computers, I had to figure out a way to take some strain off my eyes. I highly recommend these, because they were only $25 and came in a nice case with a lense cleaning rag.
  • Ear Stretching Kit & Jojoba Oil: I have wanted to stretch my ears for as long as I can remember, so I decided to do it to my third set of piercings in my lobes I recently got pierced. A couple friends recommended these items to me, and I’m so glad. The stretching kit comes with tapers and tunnels for 9 different sizes. Normal pierced ears are 16g, so I’ve transitioned to 14g tapers (the top first bag in the picture below). Both items were super affordable, and they’ll allow me to safely stretch my ears. I’m obviously new to this, so I’m learning along the journey.
  • Pentacle Necklace: Do I even need to explain? I wanted to have an everyday necklace, so I figured it might as well be related to my faith!
  • They/Them Earrings: I saw this on a friend’s Instagram story, and I bought them in less than a minute. I mean, don’t these just have me written all over them? And I love supporting small businesses! Packaging is such a small yet important touch when buying things, and they made it so personal with the cards and free set of rainbow earrings.

I actually started this haul in February, but something I bought still hasn’t arrived yet. Let’s hope it’s just taking long and not a scam! Good things take time. Other examples of this are my confidence and budgeting, which are big influences in my life. I’ve become more comfortable with letting myself buy things I want instead of only necessities, and it feels nice to set healthy boundaries for myself. Be patient with yourself and what you want.

Author: ninefingernewsletter

I’m Alex! I'm a Lamar University '21 alumnus that earned a B.A. in American Sign Language with a focus in interpreting. I enjoy reading, cooking, and traveling. While Nine Finger Newsletter is currently inactive/on hiatus, it was established in 2017 to spread awareness about my Disabled, LGBTQ+ identity. My blog is meant to educate, motivate, and entertain others with what I’m passionate about!

Leave a comment